Sign in to follow this  
chadchook

ASI 42MM install in S15

Just doing a write up for installation of a ASI radiator, before we get haters in the forum just laying out some facts.

1. I am not a mechanic, i work in IT. As a result in this there may be some details in this how to which are not best practices or may be wrong in general. I take no responsibility for any damage to your car as a result of this guide.

2. I know ASI radiators are cheap, i paid 175 dollars delivered for the unit. Don't hate, they have a good reputation and seeing the units in person i can agree with the build quality. see image below

IMG_20111007_183016.jpg

##Painting##

If your going for the stealth look like i am you may want to paint your shiny new radiator.

-You have a few choices of how you can go about this, you can either paint the entire radiator or you can paint only the top tank, which is really the only visible section once installed.

-As for your paint selection, you can either fork out for radiator paint which is a extremely thin paint designed to transfer heat and withstand chemicals or you can go the easy option and just use caliper paint which is brake fluid resistant and can handle great heat transfer. (note: if your going to paint the entire radiator i would fork out for the radiator paint so not to clog the fins.)

Step 1. Get some med grade wet and dry paper and scuff the top tank of your radiator (making sure you leave the caps on). I wasn't too fussed on the end quality so i just ensured the polished metal had been scuffed up.

Step 2. Masking up should be an easy enough task. cover everything you dont want painted up. Set it to stand where you have access to both sides so you can hit it with some paint. (i used a plank of wood on the side of the radiator i leant against some jack stands just to ensure i didnt bend any fins)

IMG_20111007_184800.jpg